Take Note

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING HUNTINGDON! See online giving link above.

Huntingdon’s fiscal year ends May 31. Gifts received before June 1 will be included in the 2014–15 Donor Report.

Graduation Weekend 2011

Baccalaureate 2011Beginning with the Baccalaureate service and ending with the final hat toss, members of the Huntingdon Class of 2011 accomplished a shared goal they had always dreamed about and stepped into more promising futures to the congratulations of their families and friends.

  • The Baccalaureate Sermon, “How Shall We Live?” was given by The Reverend Dr. Ronald R. Robinson, Chaplain, Wofford College

Traditional Day Commencement Exercises

  • The Class of 2011, Traditional Day Program: List of Graduates 2011 – Day
  • The Commencement Address, “Wisdom, Learning, and the Mirror:  A Summons to Service,” was given by Dr. Samuel R. Williamson, Vice-Chancellor and President, Emeritus, The University of the South.
  • The Graduate Address was given by Kelsey Lee Loftin, Class of 2011, English, Dothan, Alabama.
  • Summa Cum Laude GraduatesThe Margaret Read Scholarship Medal, presented to the graduates who earned the highest grade point averages among those in the Class of 2011, was awarded to Sarah Marie Frampton, Biochemistry/Cell Biology, Gainesville, Florida; and Darval Ezekiel Hutchinson, Cell Biology, Westmoreland, Jamaica.
  • The Loyalty Award, voted upon by members of the senior class, was given to Woods Bradshaw Lisenby, Class of 2011, Religion, Dothan, Alabama.
  • The Willard D. Top Award, presented to a graduating senior who exemplifies an outstanding commitment to academics and service to Huntingdon College, was given to Christopher Huckle, Cell Biology, Ocean Springs, Mississippi.  The award was presented by Dr. Top’s children, Ms. Anne DoCarmo and Mr. William Top, and Dr. Top’s life was commemorated in recognition of his death in April 2011.
  • Professor of biology and assistant vice president for academic affairs Dr. Erastus C. Dudley was presented with the Winn and Gordon Chappell Academic Enrichment Award.
  • Sellers Award, Dr. MurphyChemistry professor and department chair Dr. Maureen Kendrick Murphy, Huntingdon Class of 1978, was presented with the Julia Lightfoot Sellers Award, voted upon by members of the junior and senior classes as “that member of the teaching faculty who, in their judgment, has done much this year toward inspiring them to nobility of purpose and rekindling within them a deeper desire for learning.”

Adult Degree Completion Program Commencement Exercises

ADCP Commencement

  • The Class of 2011, ADCP: List of Graduates 2011 – ADCP
  • The Commencement Address, offered by Dr. Renee D. Culverhouse, Program Director and Gadsden Site Coordinator, ADCP