Take Note

A Service of Lessons and Carols

Thurs., Nov. 30, 7:00 p.m., Ligon Chapel; free and open to the public

Flowers Hall

John Jefferson Flowers Memorial Hall

Flowers Hall with steeple view from BellingrathBuilt in 1909, John Jefferson Flowers Memorial Hall was the first building on the Montgomery campus. Today, it is a hub of campus activity. Flowers Hall houses the Offices of the President, Admission, College and Alumni Relations, Communication, and the Provost, as well as classrooms and faculty offices.

Flowers Hall was designed by Harvard University architecture professor H. Langford Warren. Warren modeled the building after the Collegiate Gothic architecture of Cambridge and Oxford Universities in his native England. This building set the architectural style of most of the buildings on campus.

Ligon Chapel

Flowers Hall foyer leads into Leon and Myra Allman Ligon Chapel, the site of countless Huntingdon traditions. Rededicated September 3, 1999, it was named for Huntingdon benefactors Leon Edward Ligon III and his wife, Myra, whose gift supported the renovation of the space earlier that year.

The renovation included the expansion of the College’s Bellingrath Memorial Organ. Designed by the late professor emeritus of music Dr. Harald Rohlig, the organ boasts 141 ranks and a four-manual keyboard. Dr. Rohlig performed the inaugural concert on the instrument in April 2001.

Rodgers Chapel

Jean Rodgers Chapel was named in honor of the Huntingdon alumna who served as registrar from 1950 to 1987. Located in the room formerly known as the “prayer room,”  Rodgers Chapel seats 12 for small services. This chapel was dedicated May 26, 2010. Ms. Rodgers passed away October 2, 2011.