Athletic News

May 04, 2011
For immediate release:

Huntingdon College
News Release

Huntingdon Football Has Four Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

DALLAS, Texas --- The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) has announced the members of the 2011 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, and four members of the Huntingdon College football team were honored for their scholastic achievement.

Huntingdon's wide receiver Drew Harrell, linebacker Quinn Hambrite, defensive linemen Jacob “Tank” King and Steven Penewitt were four of the record-setting 671 players from 241 schools qualified for membership in the society's fifth year, a steady increase each year since the inaugural class in 2007.

In the first five years of the Honor Society, 24 Huntingdon football student-athletes have been recognized. Previous members include offensive linemen Zach Sealy, Phillip Bailey, Gary Nelson, Will Brannon, C.J. Easterly, Cliff Groce, Matt Thompson and Avery Ford, quarterbacks Justin Ridgeway and Zach Golson, fullback Justin Nelson, running back Alex Baronich, wide receivers Steven Laye and Mark Colson, tight end Shane Corley, defensive linemen Tal Lynn, Josh Robertson, Will Smith, Jacob Seales and Fred Shelby, linebackers Caleb Hartin and Hodge Patterson, cornerback Bryan Wells and punter Yancey Gordon.

The four Huntingdon honorees were a state high. Joining the Hawks on the list were Auburn University's Ryan Pugh and the University of Alabama's Greg McElroy.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include: Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university; Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

Currently, the NFF distributes more than $300,000 a year at the national level through the program to 15 individuals. Each winner of a National Scholar-Athlete Award receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. Additionally, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, is given to one member of each year's class as the absolute best. The winner of the Campbell, claimed by Texas defensive end Sam Acho in 2010, receives a total scholarship of $25,000 and a 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy. Through, its chapter network, the NFF also awards an additional $1 million to local high school student-athletes, bringing the NFF's annual scholarship distribution total to more than $1.3 million. A record-high nine NFF National Scholar-Athletes were selected in last week's NFL Draft.

The 2011 NFF Hampshire Honor Society Complete List


Hodge Patterson
Sports Information Director
Phone: (334) 833-4579

More Athletic News | More Huntingdon News

Huntingdon College is a college
of the United Methodist Church.

Huntingdon Tomorrow
The Princeton Review: A Best Southeastern College